Coverart for item
The Resource The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

Label
The weight of ink
Title
The weight of ink
Statement of responsibility
Rachel Kadish
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book. Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph." Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
  • Ester Velasquez is an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city. Helen Watt is an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. When Helen is summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation, she enlists the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming. In a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph."
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
LDL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kadish, Rachel
Dewey number
813.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3561.A358
LC item number
W45 2017
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women historians
  • Jewish women
  • Jewish fiction
  • Jewish women
  • Women historians
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
First Mariner Books edition 2018
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
575 pages
Isbn
9781328915788
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1035639036
  • (OCoLC)on1035639036
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Publication
Copyright
Note
First Mariner Books edition 2018
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
575 pages
Isbn
9781328915788
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1035639036
  • (OCoLC)on1035639036

Library Locations

    • Nesmith LibraryBorrow it
      8 Fellows Road, Windham, NH, 03087, US
      42.803361 -71.299481
Processing Feedback ...