Coverart for item
The Resource The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore

The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore

Label
The girl in the castle : a novel
Title
The girl in the castle
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Santa Montefiore
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • Kitty Deverill, the daughter of a wealthy Anglo-Irish family, enjoys a life of privilege in Ireland's wild countryside at the side of an increasingly resentful best friend and the vet's son she loves, until the Irish rebellion threatens her beloved home
  • International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty's beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she's Anglo-Irish, Kitty's heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle's cook, and Jack O'Leary, the vet's son, is unmatched--even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn't fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can't help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds. Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can't help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty's station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested--and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she's ever known are threatened. A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland
Member of
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1970-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Montefiore, Santa
Dewey number
823/.92
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PR6113.O544
LC item number
G57 2016ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Genevieve Swallow
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Swallow, Genevieve
  • OverDrive, Inc
Series statement
The Deverill chronicles
Series volume
1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Ireland
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
  • Unabridged.
  • Retail edition.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (17 hr., 26 min., 4 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780062563514
Isbn Type
(electronic audio bk.)
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
e418dd4f-321a-433b-9a57-b820a03ed9c4
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)959555708
  • (OCoLC)ocn959555708
  • 1281850
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The girl in the castle : a novel, Santa Montefiore
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
  • Unabridged.
  • Retail edition.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (17 hr., 26 min., 4 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780062563514
Isbn Type
(electronic audio bk.)
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
e418dd4f-321a-433b-9a57-b820a03ed9c4
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)959555708
  • (OCoLC)ocn959555708
  • 1281850
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Nesmith LibraryBorrow it
      8 Fellows Road, Windham, NH, 03087, US
      42.803361 -71.299481
Processing Feedback ...