Coverart for item
The Resource Stolen beauty : a novel, Laurie Lico Albanese

Stolen beauty : a novel, Laurie Lico Albanese

Label
Stolen beauty : a novel
Title
Stolen beauty
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Laurie Lico Albanese
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A powerful and important tale of love and war, art and family...I was transported."--Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author. From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.In the dazzling glitter of 1900 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer--young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish--meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt's renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the facade of conventional society, the city is also exhibiting a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism, as political hatred foments in the shadows of Adele's coffee house afternoons and cultural salons. Nearly forty years later, Adele's niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria--and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt's legacy if she is to survive and keep her family--and their history--alive. Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazis' grip? And what will become of the paintings that her aunt nearly sacrificed everything for? Impeccably researched and a "must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Paula McLain's Circling the Sun" (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty intertwines the tales of two remarkable women across more than a hundred years. It juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1959-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lico Albanese, Laurie
Dewey number
813/.54
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3562.I324
LC item number
S76 2017ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Gabra Zackman and Madeleine Maby
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Zackman, Gabra
  • Maby, Madeleine
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Antisemitism
  • Nazis
  • Vienna (Austria)
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Stolen beauty : a novel, Laurie Lico Albanese
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 32 min., 3 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781508230397
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
5187487b-89ea-47c3-bc81-e1953c78c269
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)971892072
  • (OCoLC)ocn971892072
  • 1300036
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Stolen beauty : a novel, Laurie Lico Albanese
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 32 min., 3 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781508230397
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
5187487b-89ea-47c3-bc81-e1953c78c269
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)971892072
  • (OCoLC)ocn971892072
  • 1300036
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Nesmith LibraryBorrow it
      8 Fellows Road, Windham, NH, 03087, US
      42.803361 -71.299481
Processing Feedback ...