Coverart for item
The Resource Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais

Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais

Label
Hum if you don't know the words
Title
Hum if you don't know the words
Statement of responsibility
Bianca Marais
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy. Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad, a ten-year-old white girl living with her parents in 1970s Johannesburg. In the same nation but worlds apart, Beauty Mbali, a Xhosa woman in a rural village in the Bantu homeland of the Transkei, struggles to raise her children alone after her husband's death. Both lives have been built upon the division of race, and their meeting should never have occurred. Until the Soweto Uprising, in which a protest by black students ignites racial conflict, alters the fault lines on which their society is built, and shatters their worlds when Robin's parents are left dead and Beauty's daughter goes missing. After Robin is sent to live with her loving but irresponsible aunt, Beauty is hired to care for Robin while continuing the search for her daughter. In Beauty, Robin finds the security and family that she craves, and the two forge an inextricable bond through their deep personal losses. But Robin knows that if Beauty finds her daughter, Robin could lose her new caretaker forever, so she makes a desperate decision with devastating consequences. Her quest to make amends and find redemption is a journey of self-discovery in which she learns the harsh truths of the society that once promised her protection. Told through Beauty and Robin's alternating perspectives, the interwoven narratives create a rich and complex tapestry of the emotions and tensions at the heart of Apartheid-era South Africa. Hum if You Don't Know the Words is a beautifully rendered look at loss, racism, and the creation of family"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1976-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Marais, Bianca
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.4.M3414
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Soweto Uprising (South Africa : 1976)
  • Apartheid
  • Families
  • Apartheid
  • Families
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
  • South Africa
Label
Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780399575075
Lccn
2017006944
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
9b6becde-3307-4923-b3a8-f731f98fb239
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)972640388
  • (OCoLC)ocn972640388
Label
Hum if you don't know the words, Bianca Marais
Link
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780399575075
Lccn
2017006944
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
9b6becde-3307-4923-b3a8-f731f98fb239
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)972640388
  • (OCoLC)ocn972640388

Library Locations

    • Nesmith LibraryBorrow it
      8 Fellows Road, Windham, NH, 03087, US
      42.803361 -71.299481
Processing Feedback ...