Coverart for item
The Resource Deception Cove, Owen Laukkanen

Deception Cove, Owen Laukkanen

Label
Deception Cove
Title
Deception Cove
Statement of responsibility
Owen Laukkanen
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, an "intimate and cinematic" thriller* about an ex-Marine, and ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state. Former US Marine Jess Winslow reenters civilian life a new widow, with little more to her name than a falling-down house, a medical discharge for PTSD, and a loyal dog named Lucy. The only thing she actually cares about is that dog, a black-and-white pit bull mix who helps her cope with the devastating memories of her time in Afghanistan. After fifteen years--nearly half his life--in state prison, Mason Burke owns one set of clothes, a wallet, and a photo of Lucy, the service dog he trained while behind bars. Seeking a fresh start, he sets out for Deception Cove, Washington, where the dog now lives. As soon as Mason knocks on Jess's door, he finds himself in the middle of a standoff between the widow and the deputy county sheriff. When Jess's late husband piloted his final "fishing" expedition, he stole and stashed a valuable package from his drug dealer associates. Now the package is gone, and the sheriff's department has seized Jess's dearest possession--her dog. Unless Jess turns over the missing goods, Lucy will be destroyed. The last thing Mason wants is to be dragged back into the criminal world. The last thing Jess wants is to trust a stranger. But neither of them can leave a friend, the only good thing in either of their lives, in danger. To rescue Lucy, they'll have to forge an uneasy alliance. And to avoid becoming collateral damage in someone else's private war, they have to fight back--and find a way to conquer their doubts and fears. *Alex Segura, author of Blackout and the Pete Fernandez series
Member of
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Laukkanen, Owen
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PR9199.4.L384
LC item number
D43 2019
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Courtney Patterson and Kevin Stillwell
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Patterson, Courtney
  • Stillwell, Kevin
  • OverDrive, Inc
Series statement
Neah Bay
Series volume
book 1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Widows
  • Veterans
  • Ex-convicts
  • Service dogs
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Drug dealers
  • Police corruption
  • Washington (State)
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Deception Cove, Owen Laukkanen
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (11 hr., 23 min., 20 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781549115554
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
f6ede956-df9c-4a22-9d3f-f738efa8752a
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1102318219
  • (OCoLC)on1102318219
  • 1475537
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Deception Cove, Owen Laukkanen
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (11 hr., 23 min., 20 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781549115554
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
f6ede956-df9c-4a22-9d3f-f738efa8752a
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)1102318219
  • (OCoLC)on1102318219
  • 1475537
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Nesmith LibraryBorrow it
      8 Fellows Road, Windham, NH, 03087, US
      42.803361 -71.299481
Processing Feedback ...