Coverart for item
The Resource Chemistry : a novel, Weike Wang

Chemistry : a novel, Weike Wang

Label
Chemistry : a novel
Title
Chemistry
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Weike Wang
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track; perfect for readers of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You. Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her one-time love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She's tormented by her failed research--and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all by her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life. But there's another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist, whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles, and with whom she can't make a life before finding success on her own. Eventually, the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future, and herself, behind. And for the first time, she's confronted with a question she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want? Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry--one in which the reactions can't be quantified, measured, and analyzed; one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wang, Weike
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3623.A4585
LC item number
C47 2017ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Julia Whelan
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1984-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Whelan, Julia
  • OverDrive, Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women graduate students
  • Chinese
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Chemistry : a novel, Weike Wang
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (4 hr., 56 min., 21 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781524781354
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
d79d73af-4d87-488e-a838-09bca13e6f46
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)988027134
  • (OCoLC)ocn988027134
  • 1326038
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Chemistry : a novel, Weike Wang
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
  • spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (4 hr., 56 min., 21 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781524781354
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Other physical details
digital
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
d79d73af-4d87-488e-a838-09bca13e6f46
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
  • (OCoLC)988027134
  • (OCoLC)ocn988027134
  • 1326038
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Nesmith LibraryBorrow it
      8 Fellows Road, Windham, NH, 03087, US
      42.803361 -71.299481